Jakarta Post Porn

Nov 13th, 2006, in Internet, by Patung

Hi there! Keep yourself up to date on Indonesian affairs by subscribing to our RSS feed, or stay informed on Indonesia via your email inbox.

The Jakarta Post website and Chinese porn.

[March 2007 - note the porn pop-ups from the Jakarta Post site have long since been removed.]

The Jakarta Post website is a peculiar beast at the best of times but running pop-up scripts that lead to porn pages would hardly seem to befit a brand and company that has some considerable 'capital' and is well regarded by many people, especially foreigners.

When using Firefox, but not Internet Explorer, this is an image I see at top left of the Post website, sometimes there are two of them, located at http://tan1.365tc.com/img/popup1.gif.

Within the code of the pages of the Post site there are links to a popup script, http://tan1.365tc.com/popup1.js, which produces pop-ups that go to landing pages with images like this:

"Pops" can be a highly lucrative method of generating income in certain industries, like porn, but for a serious website like the Post to be running them is just bizarre.

8 Comments on “Jakarta Post Porn”

  1. Fanglong Fanglong Says:
    November 13th, 2006 at 5:37 am

    Hey !

    Back is the JP !
    How funny ! I just had a trembling IP 交æ›å¹³å° I never clicked…
    Not so hard…

    The best to you, P !

  2. Fanglong Fanglong Says:
    November 15th, 2006 at 4:33 pm

    Hi P !

    Saw that ? The JP has removed the link !
    Was your voice heard ?

  3.  Patung Says:
    November 15th, 2006 at 4:46 pm

    Hey Fanglong, the image comes and goes, mysteriously, but the pop-up script is still in the code of the page:


    var pop_id=3039;var DoMain="http://www.365tc.com";

    Er, what does the writing in the image actually say? I don’t know Chinese.

    ………….

    I now realise the page that the pop-up goes to, sometimes, is actually http://www.exjh.com/, it is framed within a 365tc.com page.

  4. 1ndra Says:
    November 15th, 2006 at 4:57 pm

    Is it hacked?

  5.  Patung Says:
    November 15th, 2006 at 5:44 pm

    Indra I’ve heard some people say that it’s a hack, but I doubt it.

  6. 1ndra Says:
    November 15th, 2006 at 8:33 pm

    Yeah, it might be somekind of defacing.
    For me, it’s nonsense that a credible sites is promoting porn.

  7. Hans Hans Says:
    December 26th, 2006 at 6:24 am

    Just been to the site and I didn’t find anything as mentioned above, but hey, it’s been more than a month already.

    But, even with the adult pop-up removed, I find the amount of ads running on their homepage still pretty bizarre. I count approximately 10?! But it gets worse, at Kompas.com, I counted 15 and at Detik.com I lost count.

    Generating some money with a site is fine of course, but isn’t this too much and becoming a stroboscopic collection of ads? I’ve seen it on many Indonesian web properties, does it work?

  8. Olong Olong Olong Olong Says:
    December 28th, 2006 at 12:46 pm

    Knock…knock…

    why are we so paronoid about sex ?

    What’s wrong about it ? Let them (JP, Kompas, CNN, Fox, News, Times, etc) advertise any sex related website if they want to.

    Who are we to judge what is good or bad for others ? Don’t be such hypocrite….

    O2



Your view on “Jakarta Post Porn” :


Login or Register.

 

RSS
RSS feed
Email

Copyright Indonesia Matters 2006-10
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact